This trailblazing orchestra presents a special all-Mendelssohn programme with Sir András Schiff, a titan of the piano world.

Download the programme notes here.

Sir András Schiff needs no introduction as one of the leading artists of his or any generation. His collaboration with the pioneering Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment features a trio of spirited works by Mendelssohn. An evening not to be missed.

These three pieces exhibit the scintillating promise of Mendelssohn’s early career. At the London premiere of Symphony No. 1 in 1829 one critic wrote that “Fertility of invention and novelty of effect are what first strike the hearers of M. Mendelssohn’s symphony”. It is followed by the rambunctious Piano Concerto No.1, whilst the colours of Italy fly out of the orchestra from the first sun-drenched bars of Symphony No.4.

Sir András Schiff fortepiano & conductor
Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment

Symphony No.1 in C minor, Op.11 (35’)
Piano Concerto No.1 in G minor, Op.25 (20’)
Symphony No.4 in A, Op.90 “Italian” (27’)
He is one of the most penetratingly serious masters of the keyboard before the public today. Full stop.

Boston Globe, on Sir András Schiff

General booking opens Saturday 25 November at 10am.

Advance booking for members begins on Tuesday 7 November. Find out how becoming a member both supports our work and enables you to enjoy priority booking.

Dates & times

  • Book Now