Join the Ligeti Quartet and friends for an enticing programme of György Ligeti's music, including the incredible Poème Symphonique for 100 metronomes.

An exploration of Ligeti’s unique take on the fundamental elements of music from the playful Poème Symphonique for 100 metronomes to Bartók-inspired Quartet No.1, modernist Quartet No.2, and the uncertain harmonies and tangled textures of Ramifications.

Poème Symphonique for 100 metronomes (10’)
String Quartet No.2 (21’)
String Quartet No.1 'Métamorphoses nocturnes' (21’)
Ramifications (9’)

Ligeti Quartet in collaboration with Royal Academy of Music Students

YeBon Jeong violin
Harry Kneeshaw violin
Olwen Miles violin
Mabelle Park violin
Kynan Walker violin

Luca Maffesoli-Wadham viola

Ellen Baumring-Gledhill cello

Nick Broughton bass

The Ligetis performed every work with an impressive commitment to the extremities of technique

The Cusp Magazine

With thanks to Suzanne Selvi, in memory of Selman, for her kind support.