We celebrate the centenary of towering composer György Ligeti with the first of three programmes curated by the Ligeti Quartet.

Ligeti is one of the most significant and distinctive composers of the 20th century, with an impressive repertoire of inventive compositions. This is a special opportunity to hear a vast array of his music in one day. This performance takes us from one to four players, growing from solo into duo, trio and then the full quartet.

Baladă şi joc (3’)
Sonata for solo cello (9’)
Duo for violin and cello (5’)
Sonata for solo viola (22’)
Hommage à Hilding Rosenberg (2’)
John Zorn:
Cadenza for Ligeti’s Violin Concerto (1’)
Andante and Allegretto for quartet (13’)
The Ligeti Quartet were obviously powered up for an exciting performance and that is exactly what we got from them

Sound Scotland

With thanks to Suzanne Selvi, in memory of Selman, for her kind support.

Download your programme notes here.

Find out how to get here and around during the Aldeburgh Festival.