The Britten Pears Young Artist Programme was founded in 1972 by Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears. Now celebrating its 50th year, it continues to offer early career professional musicians the opportunity for high-level performance training by the world’s finest performers, teachers and creatives. The Programme takes place as courses and residencies at our creative campus, set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in Suffolk. The campus includes the world-famous Snape Maltings Concert Hall, home of the Aldeburgh Festival, and The Red House in Aldeburgh – Britten & Pears’ home and archive.

Applications for the 2022-23 programme closed on 10 March 2022. We will provide results to all applicants by 18:00 on 30 April 2022. Feedback for all applications will be sent out as soon as possible after this, though realistically it might take us until the end of July.

A full list of reviewers alongside the guidelines provided to artists reviewing 2022-23 applications can be found here.

Please note, there is a longstanding issue with how YouTube handles the data for analytics when dealing with view numbers in single figures. The platform is based upon providing insights into who views content when published openly and it deals well with hundreds or thousands of views, but not single figures and on unlisted videos. As per our published guidelines for reviewing, all submitted footage has been carefully reviewed by our international panel of reviewers.

We will be re-opening for applications for the 2023-24 Programme at the end of 2022, please keep an eye on our website or sign up for our mailing list.

Find out more...

We are so grateful to our supporters, without whom none of our work would be possible. Visit Support us to find out how you can help

Supporters contributing toward the Britten Pears Young Artist Programme include

Barbara Whatmore Charitable Trust, Felicity Guinness, Garrick Charitable Trust, Rainbow Dickinson Trust, the Richard Cave Trust and Gillie Cave, Scarfe Charitable Trust, Tim and Lizzie-Boo Llewellyn, and the BPYAP Associates

BPYAP 2021/22 Singers: Anthony and Barbadee Meyer Song Bursary, Chandos Memorial Trust, Haskel Family Foundation, John & Ann-Margaret Walton

BPYAP 2021/22 Composers: Mary Mackintosh Fund

BPYAP 2021/22 Ensembles: H Steven & PE Wood Charitable Trust, John Lawrence Field Memorial Fund

BPYAP 2021/22 Pianists: Medd Bursary

Chamber Music in Residence: Barbara Whatmore Charitable Trust, Leche Trust, the Nicholson family in memory of Patricia Nicholson, Radcliffe Trust

Katy Thomson is the inaugural Elizabeth Harwood Memorial Award holder, supported by the Elizabeth Harwood Memorial Trust

Natalie Burch is the 2021/22 Tunnard Young Artist, supported by the Viola Tunnard Memorial Trust