The Britten Pears Young Artist Programme was founded in 1972 by Benjamin Britten and Peter Pears. Now celebrating its 50th year, it continues to offer early career professional musicians the opportunity for high-level performance training by the world’s finest performers, teachers and creatives. The programme takes place through courses and residencies at our creative campus, set in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty in rural Suffolk.

We look for outstanding emerging young artists (18+) who are looking for exciting opportunities to further refine their skills and gain valuable input from industry professionals. Generally, young artists come to our courses once they have either graduated formal training or are finishing their education. There is no formal upper age limit, being early career can look different for different artists and we embrace those that have taken a non-traditional route with starting their career.

Applications are now closed.

Find out why you should apply to BPYAP...

2023-24 Courses

We are so grateful to our supporters, without whom none of our work would be possible. Visit Support us to find out how you can help.

Supporters contributing toward the 2022/23 Britten Pears Young Artist Programme include:

Adrian Swire Charitable Trust, Art Mentor Foundation Lucerne, Kirstene Baillie, Ruth Common, Shirley Ellis, Felicity Guinness, Professor Sir Barry Ife, Ken Moody, Rainbow Dickinson Trust, the Richard Cave Trust, Scarfe Charitable Trust, The Steel Charitable Trust, and the BPYAP Associates.

Singers: Anthony and Barbadee Meyer Song Bursary, Haskel Family Foundation, Tim and Lizzie-Boo Llewellyn.

Collaborative Pianists: Medd Bursary.

Instrumentalists: Chandos Memorial Trust, John Lawrence Field Memorial Fund.

Composers: Mary Mackintosh Fund.

Ensembles: H Steven & PE Wood Charitable Trust, Idlewild Trust.

Chamber Music in Residence: Barbara Whatmore Charitable Trust, the Nicholson family in memory of Patricia Nicholson, Radcliffe Trust.

Sarah Richmond is the 2022/23 Elizabeth Harwood Memorial Award holder, supported by the Elizabeth Harwood Memorial Trust.

Elli Welsh is the 2022/23 Tunnard Young Artist, supported by The Viola Tunnard Trust.