

Christmas 2022

Sunday 18 December | 1pm & 2.30pm Snape Maltings Concert Hall

Total performance time: approximately 45', with no interval Words for the audience singalong will be displayed on the surtitle screen

The Snowman, with Live Orchestra

Group A Jubilee Opera Chorus Suffolk Ensemble <u>Ben Parry</u> conductor

The Snowman (1982) script: Raymond Briggs (1934–2022) music & lyrics: Howard Blake (b.1938)

Audience singalong: **Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer** music & lyrics: Johnny Marks (1909–1985)

The Snowman

29'

Composer and music director Howard Blake is best-known for having written the music for the much-loved children's animated film of The Snowman, including the universallyknown hit song 'Walking in the air'. The film is based on the original picture book by Raymond Briggs, who died earlier this year, and was first shown on Channel 4 on Christmas Eve 1982. It was an immediate success, being nominated for an Oscar and winning prizes in France and Italy as well as the British Academy's Best Children's Film Award 1983. Howard also developed The Snowman into a full-length stage show, which has continued to run in the Peacock Theatre in London and on tour, and has been named as the 'longest-running Christmas show of all time'.

The images on screen this afternoon have been created by Snape Primary School.

Group A

Group A is a free, vocal-performance group for young people aged 8 to 18 in Ipswich, Lowestoft and Leiston, run by Britten Pears Arts. The group rehearses and performs throughout the year in collaboration with a variety of artists and musicians across a breadth of musical genres. The young people on stage this afternoon are from Group A in Leiston.

Gwendolyn Alcorn, Blaise Alcorn, Isla Nichols, Isabella Burgess, Joshua Burgess, Heidi Bunton, Maia Emmerson, Merran Fairhurst, Demi Mae Sparrow, Ella Gordon, Imogen Hadfield, Mia Hedges, Sofia Kerry, Kate Loughton, Ceylon Stone, Logan Stone, Bethany Tilbury, Jacob Tilbury, Martha Wardle, Mason Wells, Isabella Whatmough, Katie Whiting

Jubilee Opera

Jubilee Opera Chorus is the training ground for Jubilee Opera, which was formed in 1987 as a result of a production of Britten's *Noye's Fludde* in Aldeburgh Church. Such was the enthusiasm in the local community that it was decided to start an opera company for young aspiring performers to work with professionals on productions of the highest possible quality and standard. The aim was to give children with little opportunity elsewhere, the chance to discover their own abilities and to develop their musical and performance skills, thus engendering a lifelong love of the performance arts.

Clem Anderson, Nina Anderson, Sophie-May Anderson, Iris Archard, Jack Barnfield-Taylor, Emelia Bridge, Daphne Bucknell, Leonora Bucknell, Phoebe Bucknell, Beau Burns-Tucker, Orlando Burns-Tucker, Annis Catchpole, Caspar Dawson-Stewart, Evie Fairhurst, Jasmine Hayworth, Aria Price, Katie Reeve, Percy Reynolds, Sammy Siefert-Smith, Xanthe Stonard, Annie Temple, Kali Temple, Joe Tye, Saffron Vine

Suffolk Ensemble

Suffolk Ensemble was formed in 2013 for a special live broadcast on BBC Radio 3 in Aldeburgh Church of Benjamin Britten's *St Nicolas* with Aldeburgh Voices to celebrate the composer's centenary. The ensemble comprises some of the UK's leading orchestral and chamber musicians who have chosen to make their homes in Suffolk. Further memorable performances include Handel's Coronation Anthems, Bach's Magnificat, Handel's *Messiah* and James MacMillan's *Seven Last Words from the Cross* with Aldeburgh Voices. They have accompanied the live screening of *The Snowman* at Christmas since 2016.

Violin 1 Clio Gould, Nicholas Ward, Franziska Mattishent, Gregory Eaton, Kathryn Parry Violin 2 Michael Dolan, Rebecca Scott-Smissen, Cal Fell, Helen Farrell Viola Robert Smissen, Wendy Gudgin, Jim O'Toole, Laura Feeney Cello John Chillingworth, Harriet Bennett, Melanie Woodcock, Nick Parry Bass Andrew Durban, Angela Chillingworth Flute/Piccolo Anna Noakes, Samantha Read Oboe Tim Eaton Clarinet Claire Baughan, Cliff Wybrow (bass) Bassoon Steve Lock French horn Kay Dawson, Georgia Dawson Trumpet John Jermy Harp Helen Sharp Piano/keyboard Andrew Leach Percussion Craig Apps, Sam Wilson