“One of the world’s greatest string quartets” (New York Times) plays Haydn, Coleridge-Taylor and Schubert.

The Takács Quartet was founded in 1975, and while the players have changed, the ethos has remained the same. As the Guardian puts it, “What endures about the Takács Quartet, year after year, is how equally the four players carry the music.”

They play Schubert’s dramatic Death and the Maiden quartet, Haydn's last quartet, and a suite of short pieces written at the age of nineteen by Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, the London-born composer hailed as a genius in the early 20th century but largely overlooked after his death.

Quartet Op.77 No.2
5 Fantasiestucke
Quartet No.14 "Death and the Maiden"

Dates & times

  • Book Now