Ryan Wigglesworth leads his orchestra in two major works of Mozart and two first performances: Judith Weir’s Planet and his own solo-piano piece Glasharmonie.

Ryan Wigglesworth:
Glasmelodien (after Mozart’s Adagio in C, K.356) (Britten Pears Arts commission / first performance) (8’)
Piano Concerto No.24 in C minor, K.491 (30’)
Judith Weir:
Planet (Britten Pears Arts commission / first performance) (15’)
Symphony No.41 in C, K.551, “Jupiter” (31’)

Knussen Chamber Orchestra
Ryan Wigglesworth conductor & piano

Ryan Wigglesworth

Credit: © BBC

The Knussen Chamber Orchestra and its director Ryan Wigglesworth have become firm favourites at the Aldeburgh Festival, and this concert showcases the orchestra’s varied colours as well as Wigglesworth’s versatility as composer, conductor, and pianist. His new work Glasharmonie (“Glass harmonica”) takes its inspiration from Mozart, whose K.491 piano concerto – considered by Brahms to be his greatest – follows on, with Wigglesworth as soloist. In the Knussen Chamber Orchestra, current and recent students of the Royal Academy of Music sit alongside established professional musicians.

Planet is a major new work by Judith Weir, the first female Master of the King’s Music and one of the most significant British composers of the last 40 years. It is commissioned by Britten Pears Arts and especially written for this orchestra for tonight’s occasion. The programme is completed by Mozart’s Symphony No.41, nicknamed “Jupiter” – a towering classic of the symphonic repertoire.

Come to a pre-performance talk before the performance to learn more about the creative process.

Dates & times

  • Book Now